What Are You Looking For?

SLO Symphony Presents: Schumann and the New World

Saturday, March 4, 7:30 – 10 pm 2023
Performing Arts Center San Luis Obispo
1 Grand Avenue, San Luis Obispo CA 93401


SLO Symphony is presenting Schumann and the New World, on Saturday, March 4 at 7:30 p.m. in Harold Miossi Hall. Violin soloist and Nipomo resident, Mischa Lefkowitz, makes his SLO Symphony debut with Schumann’s Violin Concerto in this transcription of the Cello Concerto. The work is rarely performed with Mischa, a current member of the LA Philharmonic first violin section. Dvorak’s New World Symphony will be embellished by members of the SLO Youth Symphony performing side by side with the SLO Symphony. The Symphony will open with Grammy Award-winning composer Patrice Rushen’s Sinfonia for Orchestra. Ms. Rushen was the first woman and person of color to conduct at the Grammy Awards in 2005 and 2006. Her hit single, “Forget Me Nots,” was the theme music for the film Men in Black.  

SCHUMANN – Violin Concerto (arr. of Cello concerto Op.129)
DVORAK – Symphony No. 9 “From the New World”

Andrew Sewell, conductor
Mischa Lefkowitz, violin

Sponsored by Len Jarrott

Be sure to arrive early for Symphonic Forays, an intimate discussion with Music Director Andrew Sewell and special guests that precedes each concert. Learn more about the evening’s musical selection, composers, and soloists in an up-close-and-personal conversation. Symphonic Forays begins at 6:30 pm and is FREE to all ticket holders! Seating is general admission.