What Are You Looking For?

SLO Symphony | Organ Spectacular with Organist Felix Hell

Saturday, October 5, 7:30 – 10:30 pm
Performing Arts Center San Luis Obispo
1 Grand Avenue, San Luis Obispo CA 93401

The Symphony’s 2024/25 season kicks off with a celebration of the mighty Forbes Pipe Organ with guest soloist Felix Hell performing the Belgian composer Joseph Jongen’s iconic Sinfonia Concertante for Organ and Orchestra from 1926. The Symphony will open with a magical dance from olden times, Menuet antique, originally written for piano and later orchestrated by Maurice Ravel. The concert concludes with Brahms’ Symphony No. 4 in E minor op. 98 from 1883, a work of both sweeping gestures, soulful yearning and sublime passion.

Ravel:             Menuet antique
Brahms:        Symphony No. 4 in E minor op. 98
Jongen:         Sinfonia Concertante op.81 (1926) – with Felix Hell